The Harlequin Tea Set and Other Stories - Agatha Christie

The Harlequin Tea Set is a short story collection written by Agatha Christie and first published in the US by G. P. Putnam's Sons on 14 April 1997. It contains nine short stories each of which involves a separate mystery. With the exception of The Harlequin Tea Set, which was published in the collection Problem at Pollensa Bay, all stories were published in the UK in 1997 in the anthology While the Light Lasts and Other Stories.

The collection of nine stories include:
"The Edge" - 35:32
"The Actress" - 6:52
"While the Light Lasts" - 20:02
"The House of Dreams" - 35:30
"The Lonely God" - 30:07
"Manx Gold" - 46:35
"Within a Wall" - 41:40
"The Mystery of the Spanish Chest" (a Hercule Poirot story)
"The Harlequin Tea Set" (a Harley Quin story) - 70:24 (1:10:24)

ISBN 0-399-14287-8
OCLC 35990407
Dewey Decimal 823/.912 21

Publicated by
Putnam, 14 April 1997, Hardcover, 281 pp; ISBN 0-399-14287-8
Berkley Books, 1 December 1998, Paperback; ISBN 0-425-16515-9

The Mystery of the Spanish Chest is given here:

Poirot is called upon by Lady Chatterton to protect her good friend Marguerite Clayton. Lady Chatterton is terrified that Marguerite's husband, Edward, with his violent temper will kill his poor wife. However, when Edward is found dead, stuffed into a Spanish Chest, Poirot must reassess the situation. Who could be responsible?

The Mystery of the Spanish Chest was adapted for TV in 1991 starring David Suchet, and featured the characters of Hastings (Hugh Fraser), Japp (Philip Jackson) and Miss Lemon (Pauline Moran).

An expanded version of The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest, written in 1932 and published in The Strand Magazine, the first true publication of The Mystery of the Spanish Chest was in the magazine Women’s Illustrated. It was published in a UK collection later that year, The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding but would not appear in a US collection until 1997, in this The Harlequin Tea Set.


run time: 88 minutes 23 seconds or
1 hour 28 minutes 23 secounds

This item was donated by the Friends of the Dunnellon Library, Dunnellon, Florida
to be placed in this forum so our Service Veterans may enjoy it.

Back to aBook Selections

Under Section 107 of The Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.