Sharyn McCrumb

Sharyn McCrumb was born Sharyn Elaine Arwood on February 26, 1948, in Wilmington, North Carolina, is an American writer whose books celebrate the history and folklore of Appalachia - McCrumb is the winner of numerous literary awards, and the author of the Elizabeth McPherson series, the Ballad series, and the St - Dale series

McCrumb is an award-winning Southern writer, perhaps best known for her Appalachian “Ballad” novels, including the New York Times best sellers The Ballad of Frankie Silver and She Walks These Hills, and for St - Dale, winner of a Library of Virginia Award and featured at the National Festival of the Book - The Devil Amongst the Lawyers (2010) deals with the regional stereotyping of rural areas by national journalists - The Ballad of Tom Dooley (2011) tells the true story behind the celebrated folk song - In 2008 McCrumb was named a Virginia Woman of History for Achievement in Literature - Educated at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a Master's degree in English from Virginia Tech, McCrumb was the first writer-in-residence at King College in Tennessee - In 2005 she was honored as the Writer of the Year at Emory & Henry College.

Her novels, studied in universities throughout the world, have been translated into eleven languages, including French, German, Dutch, Japanese, Arabic, and Italian - She has lectured on her work at Oxford University, the University of Bonn-Germany, and at the Smithsonian Institution - McCrumb has also taught a writers workshop in Paris and served as writer-in-residence at King College in Tennessee and at the Chautauqua Institute in western New York.

In 2008 McCrumb was honored as one of the Library of Virginia's "Virginia Women in History" for her career.


McCrumb is the author of The Ballad Novels, a series set in the Appalachian Mountains - These books weave together the legends, geography and contemporary issues of Appalachia, and each centers on an event from North Carolina history.

Ballad series

Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past: A Ballad Novella (2014) - Abingdon Press - ISBN-10: 1426754213 - ISBN-13: 978-1426754210

King's Mountain - Thomas Dunne Books (2013) - ISBN 978-1-250-011404

Fairy Tale Princesses of the Civil War: Rattler and Celtic Magic by Sharyn McCrumb - (2012) - Mayland Community College Press - ASIN: B007JBG958

Sharyn McCrumb's Appalachia by Sharyn McCrumb (2011) - Oconee Spirit Press LLC - ISBN-10: 0983004021 - ISBN-13: 978-0983004028

The Ballad of Tom Dooley: A Novel (Appalachian Ballad) (2011) - Thomas Dunne Books - ISBN 978-0-312-55817-8

The Devil Amongst the Lawyers (2010) - Thomas Dunne Books - ISBN 978-0-312-55816-1

Blood Lite: An Anthology of Humorous Horror Stories Presented by the Horror Writers Association by Kevin J. Anderson - (2008) - Gallery Books - ISBN-10: 1416567836 - ISBN-13: 978-1416567837

Ghost Riders - Dutton Adult (2003) - ISBN 0-525-94718-3

The Songcatcher (2001) - Dutton ISBN 0-525-94488-5

The Ballad of Frankie Silver (1998) - Dutton ISBN 978-0-340-71714-1

The Rosewood Casket (1996) - Dutton ISBN 0-525-94011-1

She Walks These Hills (1994) - Scribner’s ISBN 0-684-19556-9

The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (1992) - Scribner ISBN 0-684-19407-4

If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O (1990) - Scribner - ISBN 978-0-684-19104-1

St - Dale novels

In 2005, NASCAR racing fan McCrumb wrote St. Dale - Her inspiration for the novel came from her study of medieval literature at Virginia Tech and her desire to update Geoffrey Chaucer's The Canterbury Tales - It was Dale Earnhardt who became the saint of her tale, complete with the Dale Earnhardt Pilgrimage of fans.

St. Dale - Kensington (2005) - ISBN 0-7582-0776-X.

Once Around the Track (2007) - Kensington - ISBN 0-7582-0778-6

Faster Pastor - McCrumb, Sharyn; Edwards, Adam (2010) - Ingalls Publishing Group - ISBN 978-1-932158-88-5

Elizabeth MacPherson novels

Sick of Shadows (1984) - Avon Books - ISBN 978-0-380-87189-6

Lovely in Her Bones (1985) - Avon Books - ISBN 978-0-380-89592-2

Highland Laddie Gone (1986) - Avon Books - ISBN 978-0-380-89910-4

Paying the Piper (1988) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 0-345-34518-5

The Windsor Knot (1990) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 0-345-36583-6

Missing Susan (1991) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 0-345-36575-5

MacPherson's Lament (1992) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 978-0-345-36576-7

If I'd Killed Him When I Met Him (1995) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 978-0-345-38229-0

The PMS Outlaws (2000) - Wheeler Publishing - ISBN 978-1-56895-935-1

Jay Omega novels

These are satirical novels set in the world of science fiction conventions and fandom

Bimbos of the Death Sun (1988) - TSR - ISBN 0-88038-455-7

Zombies of the Gene Pool (1992) - Simon & Schuster - ISBN 0-671-70526-1

Short stories collections

Our Separate Days (1985) - (Co-author: Mona Walton Helper)

Foggy Mountain Breakdown and Other Stories (1997) - Ballantine Books - ISBN 0-345-41493-4
Happiness is a Dead Poet 1992


Transgressions Vol. 4: The Resurrection Man/The Corn Maiden/Hostages by Sharyn McCrumb, Joyce Carol Oates, Anne Perry and Ed McBain - (2006) - Forge Books - ISBN: 0765354195

source: with edit by webmaster DAV Florida Chapter 70

Back to aBook Selections

Under Section 107 of The Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research - Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing - Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.