John Gardner

John Gardner

John Edmund Gardner (20 November 1926 3 August 2007) was an English spy and thriller novelist, best known for his James Bond continuation novels, but also for his series of Boysie Oakes books and three continuation novels containing Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's fictional villain, Professor Moriarty.

Gardner, an ex-Royal Marine commando, worked for a period as an Anglican priest, but he lost his faith and left the church after a short time. After a battle with alcohol addiction he wrote his first book, the autobiographical Spin the Bottle, published in 1964.

Gardner went on to write over fifty works of fiction, including fourteen original James Bond novels, and the novel versions of two Bond films.

He died from suspected heart failure on 3 August 2007.


Spin the Bottle (1964)

Boysie Oakes novels

The Liquidator (1964)

Understrike (1965)

Amber Nine (1966)

Madrigal (1967)

Founder Member (1969)

Traitor's Exit (1970)

The Airline Pirates (1970) - published in the U.S. as Air Apparent

A Killer for a Song (1975)

Two Boysie Oakes short stories appear in The Assassination File (A Handful of Rice, Corkscrew).

Two Boysie Oakes short stories appear in Hideaway (Boysie Oakes and The Explosive Device, Sunset At Paleokastritsa).

Derek Torry novels

A Complete State of Death (1969) - reissued in the U.S. as The Stone Killer

The Corner Men (1974)

Professor Moriarty novels

The Return of Moriarty (1974)

The Revenge of Moriarty (1975)

Moriarty (2008)

Herbie Kruger novels

The Nostradamus Traitor (1979)

The Garden of Weapons (1980)

The Quiet Dogs (1982)

Maestro (1993)

Confessor (1995)

Herbie Kruger also appears in The Secret Houses and The Secret Families.

The Railton family novels

The Secret Generations (1985)

The Secret Houses (1988)

The Secret Families (1989)

James Bond novels

Licence Renewed (1981)

For Special Services (1982)

Icebreaker (1983)

Role of Honour (1984)

Nobody Lives for Ever (1986)

No Deals, Mr. Bond (1987)

Scorpius (1988)

Win, Lose or Die (1989)

Licence to Kill (1989) novelization of a film script

Brokenclaw (1990)

The Man from Barbarossa (1991)

Death Is Forever (1992)

Never Send Flowers (1993)

SeaFire (1994)

GoldenEye (1995) novelization of a film script

COLD (1996) - published in the U.S. as Cold Fall

Detective Sergeant Suzie Mountford novels

Bottled Spider (2002)

The Streets of Town (2003)

Angels Dining at the Ritz (2004)

Troubled Midnight (2005)

No Human Enemy (2007)

Other novels

The Censor (1970)

Every Night's a Bullfight (1971) (Published in the U.S. in a bowdlerized edition as "Every Night's a Festival" in 1972.)

To Run a Little Faster (1976)

The Werewolf Trace (1977)

The Dancing Dodo (1978)

Golgotha (1980) - published in the U.S. as The Last Trump

The Director (1982) (A re-working of his 1971 novel "Every Night's a Bullfight".)

Flamingo (1983)

Blood of the Fathers (1992) (as by "Edmund McCoy". Later published under his own name in 2004.)

Day of Absolution (2000)

Short story collections

Hideaway (1968) (Contains two Boysie Oakes stories.)

The Assassination File (1974) (Contains two Boysie Oakes stories.)

Back to aBook Selections

Under Section 107 of The Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.